12V WS2811 Strip - 3 Connections

Hello, I'm very new to the Arduino. I have limited coding experience and am learning the Arduino using an elegoo kit and following along with a youtube class. I'm using an Arduino UNO Rev3.

I purchased a 1 meter (60 LED) WS2812b strip, a small supply of 1000uf capacitors, and illuminated the strip using a 5V/8A power supply and the FastLED library example code. I'm learning how to modify the examples to change the lighting designs and following along with another youtuber to learn the nuts and bolts of the library and create my own sketches. I plan to create US holiday themed window displays (St Patrick's day, Independence day, Christmas, New Years, etc.

I also ordered a 12V WS2811 lighting strip from Amazon along with 2 small 12V/3A power supplies. I thought I would need to run mosfets to each color channel, but there are only 3 connections on the strip - same as the WS2812b strip (not sure if the "+" connection says "12V" or not).

My project question: If the strip is WS2811, do I connect it and run the same libraries as the WS2812?

pdogii:
My project question: If the strip is WS2811, do I connect it and run the same libraries as the WS2812?

You sure took the long way to ask the question.
You don't say which library you are using, posting your code according to forum guidelines would help, but the WS series of LED controllers are very similar and you should be able to use them by just changing the identifier in the library init in the setup() function.

But, without seeing your sketch, I am just guessing.

Here's an idea. Try it.

Thanks! The only sketches I used were examples from the FastLED library, and it worked fine on the WS2812s. I'll hook them up this weekend and see what happens.

You don't need MOSFETs. The 5V & 12V strips work the same way with one data line, plus power and ground.