12VDC Pulse in ---->12VDC Steady out

I am installing side view mirror cameras along with my rear view camera into a bus I own. I have the cameras, the splitters, the tft screen ect.

What I didn't think of is, I need a steady 12v to keep the camera activated and therefore the screen on while turning/changing lanes. Simply splicing into the turn signal light wiring produces a pulse, which is useless.

I'm comfortable creating a small PCB that simply takes the 12VDC pulse and converts it to 12VDC steady. I assume the use of a capacitor in some respect. But how. I want the camera to switch off within a second or two of the last time power is present in the 12VDC pulse. Basically a wire in and a wire out board.

So, unless anyone has any ideas - would this setup work.....
splice 12v light wire--->dieode---->capacitor---->voltage regulator--->power into camera?

I am NOT an electrical engineer by a LONG stretch (pilot/nurse). I like to tinker and do some basic Arduino stuff.

HELP

This is very unlikely to work. The voltage during the 'off' part of the pulse will decay very quickly as the camera takes current and it won't work properly.

Run an extra 12v wire.

sorry

Allan

Why do you not use a 555 or NE555 timer chip. It will run well on 12 Volts and is extremely cheap. It requires just a few components (resistors, capacitors).

Set it up as a monostable vibrator. A short input pulse can give you an output pulse from milliseconds to many many seconds - even minutes.

This is probably the best documented chip that has ever been built, decades ago. It still is one of the most sold chips on this planet. It is good and cheap.

Hi,
Are your mirrors electric adjustable type.
If so, check that you don't have a constant 12V supply there for the motors.
Most cars switch gnd to power the motors.

Tom... :slight_smile:

Why do you not use a 555 or NE555 timer chip. It will run well on 12 Volts and is extremely cheap. It requires just a few components (resistors, capacitors).