15x7 led matrix

Hi all, i'm new to the forum so sorry if i'm doing something wrong. So, i have to build a 15 x 7 led matrix for building a "mini" stacker arcade , the leds are all blue 5mm(105 total LEDs). I'm new to the arduino world so I don't really know how to wire them and what else is needed, can someone help me ?

Hello, you are going to need led driver chip(s). The best chips for this are max7219 and ht16k33.

With max7219 you will need to split your matrix into two halves (electrically speaking) and use a max chip for each half.

With the ht16k33 you may be able to keep your matrix as a single array, as long as you have 7 cathodes and 15 anodes.

Paul

Hi paul , thank you for the help, may I ask you some question ? The chip is for controlling the matrix ? Can arduino supply energy for all 105 LED's ? Where do I attach the chip ? Do you have any schismatic similar to my project ? Thank you againg and sorry for my ignorance.

Yes, the chip(s) control the matrix. Yes the Arduino may be able to supply some "energy" to all the leds. You need to understand the difference between energy and power. The level of power that the Arduino can supply to the matrix depends on which type of Arduino you have. You attach the chip(s) between the Arduino and the matrix. Because i do not have a schematic for your project, i do not know of a similar schematic. Can you give the schematic for your project?

I don't really have a schematic for my project but I was planning to wire the led in series and then to attach them to the chip like some 8x16 led matrix that I found on the web. My doubt is that if I don't use an external power supply the LEDs will not be brighter enough ??

You need to control the LEDs individually?
With MAX7219, only 8 are actually on at a time, 800 Hz multiplexing and persistence of vision lets see all being on at once.