2 arduino Uno's connected (I2C master/slave) + LCD + Keypad + Joystick

Hi all,
I must say I am new to the whole arduino world so please don't flame if the question appears far too obvious to you. Thanks in advance.
I have 2 arduinos to work together because of lack of number of pins available to me.
1 - slave Uno board: has got a CNC shield on it to control 3 stepper motors. so basically all my pins are gone
2 - master Uno: has an LCD (I2C), keypad (3x4), a joystick, and 2 push buttons connected to it

so you can see why I need to use 2 boards here. I know I can eliminate pins used by the keypad but still I would not have enough pins available for all my components.

my question is: if I connect both the slave arduino and the LCD to pins 4 & 5 in series, how do I print on the LCD? I have given address of 8 to the slave arduino and send data to it once I have received input from the joystick and keypad, but I'm not sure how to communicate to the LCD which is also connected to pins 4&5 of the master.

this is how I send data to the slave:

Wire.beginTransmission(8);
     Wire.write(1000);  //codes I use that I interpret at the receiving end to carry out a specific task by the 3 steppers
     Wire.endTransmission();

and at the slave end:

Wire.begin(8); //the defined slave address in the master
Wire.onReceive(recieveEvent);

void recieveEvent() {
 raw_value = Wire.read();
if (....
   switch(...)
     blah blah blah

now how do I write to the LCD from the master? do I use the same wire.beginTransmission(LCD address)? or simply lcd.print("....")? nothing seems to be working here.

Thanks again,
I hope you guys can help me out here.

I have 2 arduinos to work together because of lack of number of pins available to me.

Don't you think using a model with more pins is much the better choice?

I must say I am new to the whole arduino world so please don't flame if the question appears far too obvious to you.