2 dead arduino?

Hi Everyone,

I thought this might be an easy question to answer, but I can't find any definitive result.

I have two atmega 328s both getting the same error, I presume it means I fried them, but I cant be sure.

I'mon osx 10.5.8 with IDE 18 and get this error:

avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding

and nothing else when i try to upload. i tried hitting reset, before during and after the upload and always the same result.

I replaced the chip, on both of them as well and still the same result.

is this a dead pair of arduino?

Thanks for any help or advice, I'm new to all this. i had a plotter running off these with two stepper motors and it worked for about a month, now suddenly they both died. :-[

did you select the right serial port and the right board in the tools menu?

the 328's are the chips that fit into an arduino or clone board. what kind of board are you putting them into? did one of them work at some point and, if so, what happened just before it stopped? If one is a replacement chip where did it come from and are you sure that it came with the bootloader programmed?

this is assuming that you do have the correct chip and serial port!

Probably a dumb suggestion, but is the chip inserted the correct direction?

Thanks for the replies, yeah both arduinos were working for about a month with the chips that came on them, then yesterday I broke both of them some how.

I think there was a moment when I shorted the circuit so I guess it was then. I had the right serial ports and board.

The chips that I replaced them with were from a friend and they looked right, the dead ones are 328s and the ones I repleced them with are as well. I think i put it in the right way, with the semi circle at the top.

SO is it possible that the bootloader is the problem? Can I install/programme that myself?

Thanks.

I think its this chip that my friend bought: