2 part question about LED behaviour and digitalRead

Hi all,

I'm just starting out but am kind of confused by some basic behaviour i'm seeing with the Arduino Uno board I have. I'm sure it's fairly elementary to others.

My first sketch is this:

void setup() {
// put your setup code here, to run once:
pinMode(LED_BUILTIN, OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(LED_BUILTIN, LOW);
pinMode(8, INPUT);
pinMode(7, INPUT);

}

void loop() {
// put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
if(digitalRead(8) == HIGH) {
  digitalWrite(LED_BUILTIN, HIGH);
} else if (digitalRead(7) == HIGH){
}
}

I have a single jumper wire coming from 3.3v. When i connect it to pin 8 I want the builtin led to light up. When i connect it to pin 7 i want it to go dark again.

So how come when i move the jumper wire from pin 8 to 7 it only loosely obeys my logic? I mean, it takes a few seconds to switch the LED on or off, doesn't do it immediately.

My second but related sketch is:

void setup() {
pinMode(8, INPUT);

}

void loop() {
// put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
} else {
}
}

Again i plug the jumper wire from 3.3v into pin 8 and the LED turns on. But when i unplug it from 8 it takes around 5 seconds to turn off. How come it isn't immediate?

Thanks

Please read the forum guide in the sticky post at the top of the forum section. This will tell you how to post code correctly so that emojis do not appear in your code!

But it sounds like your inputs are floating, which will cause unexpected behaviour. Do you have pull-down resistors on the input pins? Why are you using a jumper wire from 3.3V? Uno uses 5V logic, so 3.3V will probably read OK as HIGH, but why take the risk?

The behaviour seems the same using the 5v. I have no resistors involved. So do i need to try a 10k resistor on pin 8 (if testing just the second sketch)?

Noted about the posting of code.

Many thanks!

Noted? Best if you could fix the post please.