2 power sources, 1 switch

Hi,

I’m making a robot that I plan to power with a power bank that deliver 5V throw 2 USB sockets (2A & 1.5A).

I’ll use the 1.5A output to power an Arduino & a camera and the 2A output to power the motors.

I will have one sliding switch to turn the whole robot ON/OFF. Here is my circuit (POWER, ANALOG IN, DIGITAL are Arduino IOs):
Arduino board v1.png

I have some questions about it (I’m not a electronic expert):

1. As you can see, I use the switch to cut the power from 5V BATT A, to cut the 5V BATT B I would like to use a MOFSET (MOTOR MOFSET in the Schema). I wire it like the one that control the camera but I would like to use the USB A output as signal. So when 5V BATT A is cut, 5V BATT B is cut too. Are R4, R5 necessary ? What must be their values ? What do you think ?

2. I want to measure my battery voltage. So I made a voltage divider with R1, R2. Since my battery is 5V (maybe 3.xV if I can link with the inside batteries of the power bank), do I need this voltage divider ?

3. Can you confirm I can plug directly my 5V battery to the 5V pin ? Will the 3.3V IO work ?

Thanks a lot for your help !

2 USB ports (2A & 1A).

USB ports have a maximum output current of 500mA, what do you mean here?

Since my battery is 5V (maybe 3.xV if I can link with the inside batteries of the power bank), do I need this voltage divider ?

You can not get 5V batteries what do you mean here? There is no need for a potential divider if that voltage does not exceed 5V.

That FET is an n-channel one and you seem to have the thing wired as a source follower, that is the load is in the source. That is not going to work very well if at all. You need a p-channel FET to do top switching.

Hi,

Thanks for this quick feedback :)

• I ordered this power bank: RAVPower 10400 mAh (doc), it have a 2A USB port & a 1.5A USB port.