2 Seven Segment Displays Not Illuminating Properly (Shift Registers, SPI, Timer)

Hi!

GENERAL:
I’m currently building a circuit which should support a couple of seven segment displays and some rotary encoders. I am still testing it all out on a breadboard and focusing on the displays.
I use 2 TPIC6C595N shift registers and a 74HC595 to power two seven segment, four digit displays (I only use 3-3 digits from each). The TPICs sink the current while the 74s source it. The shift registers are daisy chained and I use SPI to drive them. The chaining order is: TPIC - second display, TPIC - first display, 74 - sources both displays, uses pins A-F.
I want to use SPI and interrupts because I want to receive data via serial from the PC which will be displayed later on. (I have done a variant a month ago with one 74, one seven segment display and it worked.)
Unfortunately I am not an engineer and just using Arduino as a hobby. I have spent many time googling and browsing the forums to get this far from simply using a shift register but now I am stuck.

ENCOUNTERED PROBLEM:
I try to use timer interrupts to get it working but I have run into problems:

• If I put a delay inside the timer in the for loop, e.g. 100, then all digits are lit nicely. However I do not want to use delays, that’s why I try to use the TimerOne library.
  • If I do not put a delay in the code, all the digits are blank except the last one which is properly lit. If I change how many digits I use (from 6 to 4 or 7) then always the last one is lit, the others are not so it is not a wiring issue. Why is it lit? Why are the others not lit? Am I using the timer incorrectly somehow?
  • Upon changing the timer.initialize(interval) I have seen: nothing displayed, all digits all segments lit, flickering variations.
  • I have placed 0.1uF capacitors at each chip but that did not help. Honestly I am not sure if I have placed them at the correct location. (Not at the latch pins, I have read about that here :))