2 way traffic lights using push buttons

The aim of my project is to control traffic lights at each end of a lane. The lights allow traffic to flow in one direction only. i am using Sensors (Replaced by Push Button Switches) to detect cars waiting at the red light and change lights accordingly.

I am new to writing code and could use some pointers, I have got the basic 2 way traffic light system working using delays. but now I am struggling to implement the push buttons. You can see my code below;
(try not to laugh)

//Simple Traffic Lights V0.3 2way with sensors MW
//light 1
int red1 = 10;
int yellow1 = 9;
int green1 = 8;
//light 2
int red2 = 7;
int yellow2 = 6;
int green2 = 5;

int button1 = 1;
int button2 = 2;

void setup() {

//light 1
pinMode(red1, OUTPUT);
pinMode(yellow1, OUTPUT);
pinMode(green1, OUTPUT);
//light 2
pinMode(red2, OUTPUT);
pinMode(yellow2, OUTPUT);
pinMode(green2, OUTPUT);

pinMode(button1, INPUT);
pinMode(button2, INPUT);

}

void loop() {
// put your main code here, to run repeatedly:

// Light 1 RED & Light 2 RED
digitalWrite(green1, LOW);
digitalWrite(yellow1, LOW);
digitalWrite(red1, HIGH);
digitalWrite(green2, LOW);
digitalWrite(yellow2, LOW);
digitalWrite(red2, HIGH);
delay(1500);

//Light 1 Yellow & Light 2 RED
digitalWrite(yellow1, HIGH);
delay(1500);

//Liight 1 Green & Light 2 RED
digitalWrite(green1, HIGH);
digitalWrite(red1, LOW);
delay(3000);

// I want the program to keep checking if the button has been pressed untill it has been
jump_point1:
if (digitalRead(button2) == HIGH);//once the button is high i want it to carry on with the program
else goto jump_point1;// every time the button isnt high i want it to go back and check again

digitalWrite(green1, LOW);
digitalWrite(yellow1, HIGH);
delay(1500);

digitalWrite(red1, HIGH);
delay(1500);

digitalWrite(yellow2, HIGH);
delay(1500);

digitalWrite(green2, HIGH);
digitalWrite(yellow2, LOW);
digitalWrite(red2, LOW);
delay(3000);