2 x 16 LCD contrast issue...

Howdy :)

I have an L1642 2x16 LCD. I have it hooked up in 4 bit mode and it works, I can see the text on the screen, but it is extremely light. I initially tried a 10k potentiometer but found that I in order to see it best I had to trim all the way down which meant that the 10k pot wasn't really being used. I took that out of the circuit and just tied the VLC (contrast) pin to ground and that is the best I can get (contrast wise) but I seriously cannot really see the text unless I am specifically looking for it.

I have grasped in a few different places that this means that I might need to feed the contrast a negative voltage, but I have no idea how to do that. I have read a few things where people say something about two diodes, but I am pretty confused. I have searched the forum for LCD and contrast but didn't find the info I needed. Would someone be able to point me in the right direction?

I am a newb when it comes to circuits, my forte is programming. Does anyone know of a "circuit cookbook" that might help in situations like this?

Thanks, kdittyr

You had the pot wired between 5v and Gnd with the wiper to pin3 on the LCD ? . A 10k pot usually works nicely, higher value ones may "pull" the voltage divider it creates when wired up.

All the ones I've used work this way. Once I've established what it works with I sometimes substitute a pair of fixed resistors in place of the pot.

kdittyr:

I have a few LCD modules that require a negative voltage on pin 3. Those devices are completely blank with pin 3 grounded or with any positive voltage. Since you can see your characters with pin 3 grounded it is not likely that your device requires a negative voltage.

The 10K pot should work. You will probably find that the best display comes with the pot almost at the end of it's range, with the contrast voltage just barely above 0v.

Don

Does your display have a backlight ?

Did you enable it ?

Interesting. Thanks for the input.