20 sensors to make decision of controlling 48 MOSFETS

hi guys noob here.

I need to be able to sense 20 analog signals and control 48 MOSFETS with my board. I only have 12 digital pins and 6 analog pins, I believe. How can I do this?

The conceptual issue I'm having is that my network of MOSFETS needs to be able to hold their switch state/gate high or low, which means the board needs to KEEP the signal high or low for their respective MOSFETS. But how can I possibly hold the signal high or low when I need to switch between the mosfets to control them? There is no way I can send 48 parallel signals to my network.

Now I have found this cool shield from Sparkfun Mux Shield II - DEV-11723 - SparkFun Electronics but I am afraid it wont work for the reasons mentioned above. essential it uses shift registers and multiplexers to give me 48 pins.

Someone has suggested using SparkFun I2C Expander Breakout - PCF8575 found here SparkFun I2C Expander Breakout - PCF8575 - BOB-08130 - SparkFun Electronics ... stating that it will give me all the pins I want by connecting multiples of this device to I2C, but again I am not sure if this will work and/or how it would work.

Can someone please take the time to explain, in as much detail and simple terms as possible, how I can accomplish this goal.

Thanks!

You can daisy chain 6 74HC595 (or equivalent) shift registers to get the 48 latched outputs. That is probably what is on the first shield. For analog inputs there are analog multiplexers of various channel numbers (CD4051 is 8 channels). You could have 3 4051s each outputtig to an analog channel. That gives you 24 input channels. What kind of speed to you need for the sample rate? The I2C expander is another way to increase the number of digital inputs, but I think shift registers are faster.

Hi,