20x4 LCD QC2004A on Mega2560

That is the item I’ve purchased. I am very new to arduino and fairly new to programming.

I am using the built-in examples from the arduino IDE. I change the lcd.begin from 16,2 to 20,4. I also add the 4 extra pins. Here is the sample I am working with:

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

// initialize the library with the numbers of the interface pins
LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11,9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2);

void setup() {
// set up the LCD’s number of columns and rows:
lcd.begin(20, 4);
// Print a message to the LCD.
lcd.print(“1234567890abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz”);
}

void loop() {
// Turn off the display:
lcd.noDisplay();
delay(500);
// Turn on the display:
lcd.display();
delay(500);
}

All I get is gibberish though across 2 lines. I use a switch to disconnect the power/ground from the display. Whenever I re-load the code I get a new set of gibberish across the 2 lines.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

I’ve tried searching but everyone has an I2C module (I think that is what it is called) connected on the back. I don’t have anything special with it. Just the 16 header pins connected directly to my bb and soldered onto the display board.

You do not need the '4 extra pins' just because you have a display with four rows of characters instead of two.

By adding the extra numbers to the constructor you are telling the library that you are using 8 data wires instead of four. If you tell it that you are using 8 data wires then you have to actually use 8 data wires.

You are better off just using 4 data lines, there's really no advantage in using 8.

(1) Replace the LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11,9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2); statement with the original one and make sure your wires are connected accordingly.

(2) Remove all of the stuff between the brackets in loop().

(3) Don't be surprised when your line of characters overflows onto the third row instead of the second.

Don