24W Linear Solenoid and ADXL335 Accelerometer on Uno R3

Hello,

I am new here! I’m a mechanical engineer, but I am totally new to the whole electronics side of things. I understand basic circuit design from undergrad, but I am pretty boggled by the whole diode/transistor/inductor world and how to figure out what base-resistor and what ratings are needed for the diode and transistor, based on the power of the solenoid and from the Arduino.

Goal: make a solenoid pull when the system senses a certain acceleration.

What I have: Arduino Uno Rev3, ADXL335 accelerometer on Adafruit breakout board, 24W-6ohm-12VDC linear solenoid, AA battery holders, jumper wires, transistors, diodes, resistors.

What I know(ish):

1. Connect the ADXL335 acceleration outputs to the analog inputs on the Uno, the Vin input of the ADXL335 to the 5V output of the Uno (the Adafruit breakout board has a voltage regulator for its input and output 3.3V voltage), the 3Vo (vout) output of the ADXL335 board to the AREF input of the Uno, and the GND to GND between them.

2. Connect 6 AA batteries (9V input to Uno for 5V use) in series and plug into the 2.1 mm port of the Uno, and connect 8 AA batteries in series and connect to the breadboard bus strips for the solenoid’s power supply. Also connect the negative bus rail to GND on the Uno.

What I am confused about (actually):