28BJY-48 Motor Control Questions

Hi,

Arduino newbie here. I am currently working on a watch winder project and I have noticed that my 28BJY-48 motor has become hot. After doing some research, i understand it is because that power needs to be constantly send to the motor to hold its position. My first question is

• is there a way to set a timer to de-power the motor?

I have almost 0.5 to 0.6 kg of weight attaching to the motor and rotating. However, after awhile, it starts to have grinding sound. But when I unplug the power and cool it down for an hour, it starts to have the smooth sound after plugging the power back in. My second question is

• Is there any way i can constantly running the motor without worrying about grinding sound?

here is the code i am using:

//Include the Arduino Stepper Library
#include <Stepper.h>

// Number of steps per internal motor revolution
const float STEPS_PER_REV = 32;

// Number of Steps Required
int StepsRequired;

// The pins used are 8,9,10,11
// Connected to ULN2003 Motor Driver In1, In2, In3, In4
// Pins entered in sequence 1-3-2-4 for proper step sequencing

Stepper steppermotor(STEPS_PER_REV, 0, 2, 1, 3);

void setup()
{
// Nothing (Stepper Library sets pins as outputs)
}

void loop()
{

// About 15 rotations Clockwise (1 full rotation is 2050 steps)
//steppermotor.setSpeed(500);
steppermotor.setSpeed(1000);
StepsRequired = 30750;
// About 100 rotations Clockwise (1 full rotation is 2050 steps)
//StepsRequired = 205000;
steppermotor.step(StepsRequired);
delay(2000);

// About 15 rotations Counterclockwise
//steppermotor.setSpeed(500);
steppermotor.setSpeed(1000);
StepsRequired = - 30750;
// About 100 rotations Counterclockwise (1 full rotation is 2050 steps)
//StepsRequired = - 205000;
steppermotor.step(StepsRequired);

// Wait 1 hour before rotation again
delay(600000);
// Wait 10 minutes before rotation again
//delay(2000);

}

Thanks,

How are you powering the stepper motor? I have one of them and it just gets warm.