2WD ROBOT CAR

Hi all, just getting my grandson interested in Arduino as I consider it to be a good interest for him to have. I purchased him the 2WD Robot car kit and as I am a retired electronics tech, thought it would be a pushover. I was wrong. It came with virtually no instructions other that how to mount the motors to the chassis. No wiring schematics at all. Doing a google search came up with many diagrams, yes, and almost all are different to each other for the same car, supposedly.One of the main areas of confusion is where the control wires from the motor bridge board to the Arduino are soldered. Are they meant to be soldered onto the lower Arduino board, or onto the top shield board? Different diagrams are showing different points. Would anyone have a link to a decent schematic for this project? If so it would be much appreciated.

I purchased him the 2WD Robot car kit

Link, please

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/AU-Tracking-Motor-Robot-Car-Chassis-Kit-2WD-R3-Ultrasonic-For-L298N-Arduino-MCU/152596970493?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

geobee:
One of the main areas of confusion is where the control wires from the motor bridge board to the Arduino are soldered. Are they meant to be soldered onto the lower Arduino board, or onto the top shield board?

That doesn't really matter, as long as the code you write uses the same pin...
Mechanically it's probably more sensible to use the shield

Already somewhat answered by couka while I was writing this, but since this has more information I'll post it anyway:

The "V5 Sensor Shield" (AKA "the top shield board") included in the kit: