2x Stepper Motion control

Hi Guys.

I'm really new in electronics, but im working on an important project to me. However, im really not sure about its possibilities. I would like to use an arduino nano with two sparkfun easydrivers, each would drive a 28mm stepper motor. EKP28HS32-067S4

28mm Stepper motors

Would the system run on 7.2V nicely?
If i run the motor on 7.2V, i would get 8.12 revolutions/sec at maximum speed. Am i right with that?
I also cant figure out, how powerful would it be, if it's output is a wheel with a radius of 2mm? Does that mean, that it moves 12.x mm multiplied by 8.12 times in one second? If so, how much weight could it handle? I would be really thankful if someone could help me with some guide, at least where to start.

An EasyDriver can only provide 750mA. It should be suitable for the -067S4 motor as it seems to require 670mA.

That motor has a coil resistance of 5.6ohms and with 0.67A that gives a nominal voltage of 3.75v. It should work OK with 7.2v but for higher speeds a higher voltage (up to the max of the EasyDriver) would be better. You MUST adjust the Easydriver so it only allows 670mA through the motor.

I have no idea where you got the numbers 8.12 rps or 2mm.

For 8rps there would be 1600 steps per second (at 200 steps per revolution). That is a high speed, but might be achievable. I suspect you would need a higher voltage.

The holding torque is stated as 600gm at 1cm radius. That will only be achieved at full current (670mA) while the motor is stationary. The torque will fall of as the motor speed increases. Some manufacturers provide a graph showing how torque varies with speed.

Rather than ask "how much could it handle" you should start at the other end. What do you want to do and what torque at what speed does that require. Then you can go looking for a suitable motor and motor driver.

...R

There is no reliable way to calculate the performance of a stepper (unlike