3.7V 400 mAh Ion Battery for ESP8266?

I am fairly new to Arduino, and have been researching but haven't really gotten anywhere.

I am creating a fall detection system which will send an SMS to a person if a fall is detected. For this I was planning to use the Adafruit Feather 32u4, MPU 6050 and a Wi-Fi Module (ESP 8266).

Will a 3.7V 400 mAh Lithium Ion battery work with this project? I've researched and apparently the Wi-Fi Module will only except up to 3.3V, so would I have to buy something else to bring it down to 3.3V?

Help will be appreciated, thank you.

Onboard BT and a second module for WiFi seems overkill.
If you need both, then an ESP32 based board might be better.
Or find a board with just WiFi and a LiPo connection.
A WeMos D1 mini with LiPo shield might do.
Leo..

auforgold:
I am creating a fall detection system which will send an SMS to a person if a fall is detected. For this I was planning to use the Adafruit Feather 32u4, MPU 6050 and a Wi-Fi Module (ESP 8266).

Too many processors! The ESP8266 is way more capable than the Adafruit Feather, just forget the Feather!

auforgold:
Will a 3.7V 400 mAh Lithium Ion battery work with this project? I've researched and apparently the Wi-Fi Module will only accept up to 3.3V, so would I have to buy something else to bring it down to 3.3V?

Yes, you are correct - the ESP8277 is not specified about about 3.5 V and freshly charged or on charge, the Li-ion will be about 4.2 V.

You have a problem. If you use a silicon diode in series to drop 0.6 V, then you lose that voltage also as the battery discharges. If you use a LDO (Low Drop Out) regulator that can minimise that drop, it will probably not be able to pass the impulse current as the ESP8266 transmits - though a large capacitor (1 mF or more) on the ESP may permit this.