3 potentiometers clutch

Hello there,

I’m having some troubles with programing 3 potentiometers intended to work as a clutch for my steering wheel.

What I want to do, is to make 1 potentiometer to control the percentage of the other 2.
Like if the first potentiometer is in the minimum position, only the second will work, if the first potentiometer is in half, both the other will take half of the total value each.

Here follows the code,

#include <Joystick.h>

Joystick_ Joystick;

int zAxis_=0;
int RxAxis_=0;
int RyAxis_=0;
int RzAxis_=0;
const bool initAutoSendState = true; 

void setup()
{
      Joystick.begin();
  }

void loop(){

RxAxis_ = analogRead(A0);
 RxAxis_ = map(RxAxis_,0,1023,0,255);

RyAxis_ = analogRead(A1);
 RyAxis_ = map(RyAxis_,0,1023,0,255);

RzAxis_ = analogRead(A2);        

zAxis_ =  ((RzAxis_/100) * RxAxis_) + RyAxis_;
 zAxis_ = map(zAxis_,0,1023,0,255);            
Joystick.setZAxis(zAxis_);

delay (50);
}

I believe it is quite simple, but I’m no programmer and I’m having some troubles to do so…
Can this be done? Is there a better way?

RafaelEsperanca: What I want to do, is to make 1 potentiometer to control the percentage of the other 2. Like if the first potentiometer is in the minimum position, only the second will work, if the first potentiometer is in half, both the other will take half of the total value each.

Leave the programming aside for a moment and let's try to describe this in English.

My interpretation is as follows

• The output is the sum of the values of P2 and P3
  • If P1 is 0 then the value of P3 is treated as 0 (so that P2 + P3 is just the value of P2)
  • if P1 is greater than 0 then value P2 + P3 is multiplied by the ratio P1/1023

...R

Robin2: Leave the programming aside for a moment and let's try to describe this in English.

My interpretation is as follows

• The output is the sum of the values of P2 and P3
  • If P1 is 0 then the value of P3 is treated as 0 (so that P2 + P3 is just the value of P2)