300 baud on Uno

I’ve read many old threads on this topic but haven’t found any solutions that work for me. I’m brand new to Arduino and am trying to set up my Uno to replace the controller for a heat recovery ventilator. The control logic operates at 300 baud so I’m stuck with that bit rate. I set up a simple serial echo loop which works fine for 1200 baud and higher, but spits out garbage at 300 baud. This is identical to reports in 2-7 year old threads. Is there a workaround to this problem or am I stuck?

Here is the test sketch I’m using. Nothing fancy. But I did try one workaround I found in an old thread which was to initialize the serial port with 600 baud and then halve that with the code commented out in the setup. But it didn’t work.

Any suggestions are very much appreciated.

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(300);
  // This halves the baud rate
  //UCSR0A &= ~(1<<U2X0);
}

void loop(){

// Wait for input
  while (Serial.available() == 0);

int val = Serial.read();

//Echo the input
  Serial.println(val);

//  Serial.write(val); // send a byte with the value 'val' 

delay(1000);
}

initialize the serial port with 600 baud and then halve that with the code commented out in the setup.

That should work… I don’t have any other suggestions. The divisor you’d need to get 300 to work just doesn’t fit in the number of bits that are available.

You could add

UBRR0H = 0xD;
   UBRR0L = 0x04;

westfw: That should work... I don't have any other suggestions. The divisor you'd need to get 300 to work just doesn't fit in the number of bits that are available.

You could add

UBRR0H = 0xD; UBRR0L = 0x04;