328p -> 1280 or ARM?

I'm running out of code space on my 328p. The project requires being able to go into a "deep sleep" mode with uA consumption levels, and general energy efficiency. I've built a custom board that accepts a ProMini, and my project is all arduino + libraries.

Switching away from the pro mini is going require some expensive changes no matter which way I go, so I'd like to only do it once. I have some (limited) experience coding for the Cortex M3, so one alternative is to use the Maple Mini, but I'd imagine I would have to rewrite a lot of the third party libs I'm using (specifically - servo control, i2c, Fat32 system for writing to an SD card and a few others)

Is the 1280 (or 2560) energy efficient enough to compete with the arm chip / be comparable to the 328?

I'm running out of code space on my 328p

If your running low on code space then you have probably done something wrong. Post a 300 or 400 line sample and we can take a look. On a micro such as these AVRs 32k is about a 1000 man hours work!.

Is the 1280 (or 2560) energy efficient enough to compete with the arm chip / be comparable to the 328?

Every thing you need to work this out is in the data sheet of the chip(s) you want to use. Only you can define what you mean by "compete".

that's not really an answer.

feel free to take a look at the code, but as i mentioned in the original post, most of the weight is coming from libraries i need.

Yes. But you won't have the many small premade and sold module packaged options to use like the Pro-mini or Nano package to use. You might want to look at the Tensey 3.1 board as it's ARM based, very small and has software libraries and arduino IDE support files to work under the IDE.

https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/

awesome, thanks.

not too worried about premade modules (i'm making custom SMT boards anyway), but like the support of this being out there for a while.

'1284P is another option. 128K: 4x the Flash memory of ther '328P.