328p TQFP problem

Hi people, I’m just learning so need your advice.

I’m trying to use 328p TQFP in my project. So I’ve made a small pcb-converter and soldered a blanc chip using hot air.

The problem is that it doesn’t work when trying to connect it via ISP. I’m using stk500 and avrisp mkII. Avr studio doesn’t detect it. If use regular dip28 or just any arduino - all works good.

I’ve desoldered the chip and put another one (both new). Still doesn’t work.

Could someone explain me how properly to wire TQFP 328p. For dip28 I’ve used just crystal, even without caps, and all worked good.

Is it possible that I’ve damaged both chips with hot air? I’m using paint stripper gun at lower speed (instruction says its 400C)

Again, I’m really not too familiar with all of this so need some help from more experienced.

Few pics of what I have. There is a ground pin of crystal in the air, it’s happened after testing. And also 99,9% there are no shorties, checked with microscope.

Thanks in advance.

All GND are connected, all Vcc are connected and also to AVcc : good.
Crystal without two 22pF : not good.
No decoupling capacitor of 100nF at Vcc and GND : not good.

Trying to run a microcontroller without decoupling capacitor ? That decoupling capacitor is the most important component of your design.
A DIP version that runs with a crystal but without the 22pF caps ? That's magic.
Perhaps the TQFP is a different series of ATmega328P that are slightly different ? Because they all have the same chip die inside.

As to the dip28 atmega328p without caps - just believe me, I didn’t have them that day. It worked perfectly. I’ve used this crystal. Probably this is some special crystal. See attached.

In this case I’ve used 3 pin resonator from nano, it should have caps already in it.

As to the 100nf cap - as you can see from the pics I’ve used 0.1mf cap. It’s kind of the same:)