33 BLE + VL53L1X

My project goal is to output data from the ST VL53L1X LIDAR chip to my phone via the 33 BLE.
I have been able to transfer basic info (“BatteryMonitor” sketch) to the phone using a BT tool called nrfConnect.

So my next step is to get useful data. I have hooked up the VL53L1X chip to the 33 BLE. When connected to the PC I have successfully output continuous data from the sensor via the module to the computer, getting info on the serial port monitor (constant string of 4 digit numbers varying according to distance from subject to sensor).

Now, I have created a sketch to join the basic BT functions from “BatteryMonitor” and the serial data from the ST VL53L1X chip.

I’m getting the message “no serial profile found”.

I’m sure the code is pretty poor as I’m a newbie here, but I’m happy that at least I’ve been heading in the right direction…
Code attached…
Advice needed!

sketch_ble2.ino (2.43 KB)

geoffreybaker:
... and the serial data from the ST VL53L1X chip.

What do you mean with serial data?

geoffreybaker:
I'm getting the message "no serial profile found".

What do you do when and where do you get this message? Your BLE code works. Why did you try a String characteristic?

geoffreybaker:
Advice needed!

You must not use 16-bit UUIDs for your own services. They are reserved for services and characteristics defined by the Bluetooth SiG. You have to use 128-bit random UUIDs.

You should rewrite the loop code to remove the while() loop. Loop should run as often as possible. Make sure the sensor code and the BLE code are independent and only pass values. This will allow you to extend the code over time.

Try to reduce the code to the essential of the issue and post it using code tags instead of attaching a sketch file. Should look like this.

Example code

If not necessary avoid code that needs external hardware. This allows others without the sensor to test the code and provide hints.

Klaus_K:

What do you mean with serial data?