3D Pin art

Hi,

I am new to Ardunio. I am looking at creating a project with a touchscreen, and when an option on screen is selected, it creates a shape on the 3d pin art (like these: https://www.google.co.uk/search?safe=off&biw=1920&bih=949&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=3d+pin+art&oq=3d+pin+art&gs_l=psy-ab.3...3996.3996.0.4234.1.1.0.0.0.0.0.0..0.0....0...1.1.64.psy-ab..1.0.0....0.6VWZhI3BX28)

Just looking for advice on what hardware would be needed and best way to get started? In my head i think it could work like this:

-each pin is assigned a value
-certain values are then assigned with the object on screen

• ie.. pin 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 & 8 are assigned to the 'circle' object on screen.
  • when the circle is pressed on screen, 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 & 8 all extend, thus creating the shape.

Is this viable?

Any advice for a beginner is much appreciated.

Many thanks

RC

How many pins are you planning to have?

The images in your link look like they have maybe 50 x 100 or 5000 pins. How do you propose to move each one separately?

I can think of a mechanism that could traverse the rows and columns and push a pin when it it was at the pin's location. But it would be very complex and what I'm thinking of could not pull pins back to make a flat surface.

...R

Many thanks for your answer.

Ideally I was thinking of having something like the ones in the link but on a smaller scale. lets say 500 max? still a lot i know.

I guess I am simplifying things by thinking that if there was power to a pin it would extend, but if there was no power it would not be extended? i guess i am.

would you be able to explain the basic idea of the mechanism you are thinking of?

Thanks again