3D Printer - Coding Arduino and Python -BEGINNER - microswitch

Hello, I’m currently an engineering student and my project is to create a program for a 3D printer. I have no coding experience what so ever and have been learning from tutorials and YouTube. I have been creating a program with python which allows me to control the printer when buttons are pressed. I have become stuck on trying to get the axes to home. I have a microswitch positioned at the minimum point on each axes. I have spent numerous hours trying to get this to work. I have done the tutorial for the StateChangeDetection and Debounce but still can’t get it to work. Could anyone lead me in the right direction please and if you notice any changes that you would advise for my code, feel free to inform me, thanks.

#define X_STEP_PIN         54 //Printer Head/carriage
#define X_DIR_PIN          55
#define X_ENABLE_PIN       38
#define X_MIN_PIN           3
#define X_MAX_PIN           2

#define Y_STEP_PIN         60 //Printer Bed 
#define Y_DIR_PIN          61
#define Y_ENABLE_PIN       56
#define Y_MIN_PIN          14
#define Y_MAX_PIN          15

#define Z_STEP_PIN         46 
#define Z_DIR_PIN          48
#define Z_ENABLE_PIN       62
#define Z_MIN_PIN          18
#define Z_MAX_PIN          19

#define E_STEP_PIN         26
#define E_DIR_PIN          28
#define E_ENABLE_PIN       24

#define Q_STEP_PIN         36
#define Q_DIR_PIN          34
#define Q_ENABLE_PIN       30

#define SDPOWER            -1
#define SDSS               53
#define LED_PIN            13

#define FAN_PIN            9

#define PS_ON_PIN          12
#define KILL_PIN           -1

#define HEATER_0_PIN       10
#define HEATER_1_PIN       8
#define TEMP_0_PIN          13   // ANALOG NUMBERING
#define TEMP_1_PIN          14   // ANALOG NUMBERING

int X_STOP = 0;
int Y_STOP = 0;
int Z_STOP = 0;

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600); //sets the baud rate of 9600 bps
  pinMode(FAN_PIN , OUTPUT);
  pinMode(HEATER_0_PIN , OUTPUT);