3D Printer Filament odometer (Filodometer)

Hi, I am very new to Arduino and am looking for some assistance in understanding how to go about building my first project.

Scope/Objective: To build an independent monitor to attach to my spools of filament and record the usage in meters.

My initial Thoughts: The filament will be fed through the wheels of the counter as it is loaded onto an empty spool. This will ascertain the correct start length and display such on a screen. Once complete, it will then count down as the filament is used and run back through the wheels in the opposite direction. All the while not having to be rethread after the initial loading.

Considerations:
I am certain an Arduino can handle such a simple task but one consideration is what is the smallest that can manage this. Will the coding be a ‘simple’ feat?
My second consideration is the memory. When no longer powered, how can I ensure the counter remembers its last position.
Lastly, my thoughts were to use a 360 rotary encoder to detect the travel of the filament. Will this record both directions?

All together my parts list contains a display, the arduino and the rotary encoder (not forgetting the wiring). Is there anything else I should consider?

Thank you all in advance.

A Nano is pretty small.

Define "simple". A very complex task, to me, may be almost trivial to Nick Gammon. So "simple" is very much a relative term.

Most Arduinos come with EEPROM non volatile memory. If you save stuff to EEPROM at shut down, it will ba available at power up or reset. You have to save it to EEPROM though, it does not happen automatically.

A quadrature encoder can indicate direction as well as counts.

All together my parts list contains a display, the arduino and the rotary encoder (not forgetting the wiring). Is there anything else I should consider?

Not that I can see from your project description.

Thank you for your help!