3D Printing - Adding Print Time, Finish Time etc to EXTERNAL Display

I have several 3D printers and use them for business purposes.

One of the things I've always wanted to have displayed (on a separate LCD display) would be Current Time Elapsed Since Print Began, Estimated Time of Print Completion and Print Time Remaining.

Right now, the firmware is capable of displaying the Elapsed Time Since Print Began.

But what I want is a dedicated (extra) LCD display that displays the following by default all the time.

1). Elapsed Time (since print started)
2). Approximate time to Complete
3). Time Remaining
4). Line Number (in 3D printing, this is the program line number)
5). Current Z Position (Print Nozzle Height From Bed)

I understand Sailfish Firmware does have Time remaining as one of it's displayed parameters, but I'm hesitant to change my firmware for fear of "bricking" my printers mainboard.

I'm just beginning this project so it may take a while to even find out if it's possible.

If you have any information that might help please chime in.

Thanks

Creating the display with an Arduino is certainly possible. But how would the Arduino get the necessary data from the 3D printer?

And you have not even told us what 3D printers you are using or what software is controlling them.

It would probably be more fruitful to ask our question on a Forum dedicated to 3D printers - ideally lke the ones you are using. Maybe try the RepRap Forum.

...R

Robin2:
Creating the display with an Arduino is certainly possible. But how would the Arduino get the necessary data from the 3D printer?

And you have not even told us what 3D printers you are using or what software is controlling them.

It would probably be more fruitful to ask our question on a Forum dedicated to 3D printers - ideally lke the ones you are using. Maybe try the RepRap Forum.

...R

3D printers are largely based on the same technology. Under the hood it doesn't make a lot of difference.