3w 8x8 LED Dome+IR Nikon trigger: my code is ugly, help it to elegance

Greetings from Islamabad, Pakistan!

I am trying to make a Dome with 64 3W LEDs in an 8X8 matrix driven by an Arduino Mega 2650 with the help of intermediate MOSFETs for higher current supplies. Here is what I am trying to make: https://cias.rit.edu/media/uploads/projects/1533/documents/275/kinsman-rti-6625-47322-1-pb.pdf!

However, I needed higher powered LEDs to keep exposure times short so went for a direct driven matrix. Am an absolute beginner. Tried learning following tutorials and books and research as much as I could. Driving an LED Matrix Directly on the Arduino (http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/DirectDriveLEDMatrix) would have done it had I been able to understand. I could not.

Still I have written a fair bit of code that I reckon should do the trick for me. However, I am not happy with the plebian character of my code for do understand that if I knew better the whole process could be coded in a few lines of code and very very elegantly. But I did what I could and it is attached herewith for I do not wish to paste a whole lot of repetitive code to offend your --I imagine-- very evolved programming aesthetics! :slight_smile:

I am making this to introduce PTM/RTI photography --Polynomial Texture Mapping/Reflectance Transfer Imaging–in Pakistan and also to practice it as a professional.

Will very much appreciate if one of the learned ones on this forum help me make my code as it should be instead of the rudimentary logic that is contained in my repetitious take here!

Best regards.

Khalid Hussain,
Banigala, Islamabad, Pakistan

Draft_Code.txt (15.8 KB)

If you are driving the LEDs with 5V you can use P-Channel MOSFETs for the high-side drivers and N-Channel MOSFETs for the low-side drivers. Set one high-side output pin LOW and one low-side output pin HIGH to turn on the LED at that intersection. You will need a resistor current limiter on each row or each column.