4-Button Sequencial Code using Arduino ?

First off, I am completely new to the Arduino "world".

I see this little "slice of technology" can be used in many various applications. My project : Can it be used along with 4 push button-switches as a type of "digital lock" where as a correct 4-button sequence has to entered to open or close a relay ?

Again, I am totally new and have no idea on how to build, program ( if needed ) a Arduino. I DO HOWEVER have 25 years plus of electronic gaming repair under my belt. So I am electronically able, just never heard of Arduino until now.

What is needed ? Do I need to program this thing ? I can read schematics which would also be a BIG help.

Thank you, I am really interested in building some projects using Arduino.

Dave.

That will be super simple to do and should give you little to no trouble. You would do some simple programming with the free Arduino software to listen to 4 digital pins as inputs and use variables to track if the correct sequence has been pressed thru several "if" statements. then you would tell another digital pin to output HIGH and that would supply voltage for a small relay. the only hard part will be choosing which flavor of arduino you want! Chris

That's the part I don't know. BOTH the programming part and the "which one" to choose. I've never heard of Arduino until just now.

Thanks, Dave.

BOTH the programming part and the "which one" to choose.

Programming:

If you haven't ever done it, then look at the examples in the IDE, peruse the online reference, check out code in these forums, and check out the playground; try the examples, try changing them to do different things or make them work differently; try combining the code you think you need. Look online for circuit examples, etc and then try to adapt them. If you have a concern, draw up a schematic as best as you can, write up your code, and post it in the appropriate area on these forums for help.