4-DC Motor, 4 Servo, multi instrument build

Hello,

I am new to Arduino and I want to purchase the correct components for my project. I am building a quad-tilt rotor aircraft. I will have multiple components and instruments that I would like to work together and I was wondering if anyone could give some guidance. I tried doing some searches on google, but non of my searches put me in the right direction. Is it possible to link all 4 motors and servos (which each servo/motor pair will technically work independently of each other based on multiple variables), acceleramotor, 5 ultrasonic senors (might be overkill, but I want to start with everything and then subtract), and an infrared sensor to one board (say a mega)? I will also try to incorporate a raspberry pi as a microprocessor. Currently I have a pi 2.0 and a pi to arduino shield from cooking hacks. Again, if I am being vague please let me know, and I apologize if this is a noob question, but I am just looking for some guidance. Thank you for any help you might offer.

Search tips in my sig line.

https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&as_q=quadrotor&as_epq=&as_oq=&as_eq=&as_nlo=&as_nhi=&lr=&cr=&as_qdr=all&as_sitesearch=http%3A%2F%2Farduino.cc%2Fforum&as_occt=any&safe=images&tbs=&as_filetype=&as_rights=

Thank you for your help. I missed the PID controller aspect. That will be a big help. This will help me get started, but as with my search, the quads being built by these people are different than the quad I am building. One problem that I believe I will have is operating the servo/motor pair independently of each other whereas a standard quadracopter operates the servo/motor pairs in groups of two. I am going to get started and then post questions when I hit a dead end. Again, thank you for your help, the PID controller will be a necessary purchase.