4 Decimal Places (.0000)

Hello Forum,

I was wondering if anyone can give some quick advise and sample code solutions? Don’t lauph to hard for me saying that. I am very new to this and am running a simple sketch. I’m just reading an analog input (A5) from a spectrophotometer’s output.

I have researched this topic in the Forum and some of the applications I read are far more complex than this setup. The values are pretty much spot on comparing them to a oscope but only display 2 integers (Ex. .080) All I want is to read 3 data values (Ex. .0823). Included is the sample code. Is there an easy way to do this without bit shifting, adding bytes…an so forth.

Thanks for any help,
Chad
Tempe, AZ

Chad_Analog_Input_Voltage_1.20.ino (1.44 KB)

Serial.println(Voltage_mV);     //Input Voltage Value

With floats you can specify the precision

Change to:

Serial.println(Voltage_mV , 4);     //Input Voltage Value

Thank you very much Delta! Works like a charm and great to know for future sketches.

Chad

Just be careful and don't fool yourself into thinking that you're really measuring voltage to 4 decimal places. The analogRead only gives you 1023 steps. No matter what type of variable or what type of calculation you do on it, you only have 1023 steps.

Think about your calculations. Stick in a number and run it through on paper to get the mV. Now stick in one number higher or lower and see how far away it is. That's your resolution. I doubt you have 4 decimal places to work with.

So if sensorValue is 512 that means (512 * (5.0 / 1023)) == 2.5024 V

If sensorValue is 513 then (513 * (5.0 / 1023)) == 2.5073 V

So the best resolution you can hope for is about 5mV.