4017 sequencer for wave shield

Hi fellow arduinerds!

I purchased the Wave Shield from Adafruit a while ago and now I want to make a proper sampler out of it.
So I thought of the simplest way to build a sequencer for the shield and came up with this - I want your feedback concerning the practical application of this circuit, and code help would be much appreciated! (I am still very new to compiling code)

My idea is: if the 4017 sends out a HIGH for each step (that being f.i. 5V), then this could be sent through a resistor/potentiometer and further to an analog input on the arduino.
This voltage could then be divided into the desired amount of samples to choose from on the card.
So if I want to trigger 1 of 4 samples: 0-1.25V is 'sample 1', 1.26-2.5V is 'sample 2', 2.51-3.75V is 'sample 3', 3.76-5V is 'sample 4'.

Is it possible to do it this way? Can the "HIGH" output from the 4017 IC be scaled through a pot.meter this way?
And concering the code, I thought of just using the template for the "6 pushbuttons" sketch and fiddling around.

Looking forward to your replies!

Regards,
Paleorama

You probably don't get what you intended. Let's say Q1 (pin 2 of the 4017) goes HIGH. I guess you're intention was that then the value of the second pot (in your drawing from the left) is "read" and can be accessed by the Arduino. This is not the case because the position of ALL the other pots is also relevant for that value because you connect them all through and then to GND. An array of diodes after the pots may help you get what you want.

The intention is just to get a reading of whatever pot getting a HIGH, so the corresponding sample can be called. All the other pots are getting 0V - can you explain why you think the diodes will help? Aren't they just making sure the electrons are "pushed" or "pulled" in a certain direction?

But thanks for replying anyways!