4G mobile hotspot as internet source

I have a 4g wifi router/hotspot/modem. The divice's functionality is simple… when I turn it on it connect to 4g Cellular network for high-speed internet, and create a wifi hotspot… to be use by other wifi client.

I want to use this modem as internet source for Arduino with direct connection (without wifi shield)! So end goal is, whenever Arduino needs internet, it turns the device on and uses the 4g connection to execute a web request.

First I thought it can’t be done since the modem is a commercial closed source device. But after I opened it up I found traditional IO ports…

I’m wondering maybe it is possible to send receive data directly like an Arduino ethernat/wifi shield! Since I have no experience on exploiting this kind of device… I’m seeking for advice on how to proceed if I want to investigate farther.

Here is more info about the device,

Model Name: IMW-C910W (2.5Ghz) wikidevi Circuit board: BISCUIT_MINI 2.3G/2.5G REV1.2A Microcontroller: GDM7205 160 Hhz WI1 chip1: Atheros AR6003G-AC2B IO PORT: 1366A (?)

Other thought: if the modem was a "4g to usb" instead of "4g to wifi" would I have a better shot of doing this?

The fact that you are even asking the question seems to indicate that you lack the documentation to answer the question. The fact that the unit has traditional I/O ports isn't going to do you any good if you don't have any programable control. If you had the documentation that shows how to do that, you wouldn't be asking the question. Knowing the model name or the uC type is still not enough to answer your question. Do you have the I/O memory map ? Do you have the code ? Can you program it. I think your in over your head on this and I don't think we have the answer. You are just going to have to use a WIFI shield. Do you have the source code (firmware ) for the device. No. Obviously. No code. No I/O memory map. No clue. Honestly , I don't think what you are asking is doable.