4x4 keypad to control 74HC595's

Hello I am brand new to arduino, but i do a little coding in python, and ready to learn. I am trying to control 300 different LED’s with a 4x4 keypad, and multiple 74HC595’s. To get the general concept i would like help tying to numbers from the keypad to LED’s in their order. Similar to this that i found on tinkercad.

#include <Wire.h>

int x = 0;
int leds[]={0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0};

void allOff() {
  for(int i=2; i<=9; i++) {
    leds[i]=0;
  }
}

void setup() {
  Wire.begin(9); 
  Wire.onReceive(receiveEvent);
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("\n\n\n");
}

void receiveEvent(int bytes) {
  x = Wire.read();
}

void loop() {
  for(int i=2; i<=9; i++) {
    pinMode(i,OUTPUT);
    digitalWrite(i,(leds[i]==0)?LOW:HIGH);
  }
  if(x>0) {
    if((x>='0') && (x<='9')) {
      allOff();
      leds[(x-'1')+2]=1-leds[(x-'1')+2];  
    }
    Serial.print(x);
    Serial.print(" ");
    Serial.println(char(x));
    x='\0';
  }
  delayMicroseconds(100);
}

this does what i am after, but i would like to use at least two 74HC595’s and have at least 16 LED’s so i can get the idea. I am hoping after that i can take it and run with it. Thanks for reading and hopefully some one out there can help me. Thanks

You’re in the right area.

Once you’ve got your LED states in the array, you can just shift them out to the 595s.

To make it easier for yourself, turn leds into the bits of a single unsigned int… bits 0::15 (16 LEDs)

Then once you’ve set the required bits in that integer, you can shift them out directly- either using the shiftOut() function, or bit-bashing the bits of ‘led’. In this case, no array needed, but there are later reasons you may like to introduce complexity, but get one thing working first!