4x4 LED Matrix not working

I've built a 4x4 LED matrix like this, but the LEDs are arranged in a linear way instead (like a LED strip).
Btw the logic and the connections are the same, so i've tried running the code in that page, but no LED turned on.

Then i've tried connecting each column individally to the Arduino GND directly and this time 4 LEDs turned on correctly (except the 1st of each row which seems to blink).

It is likely i made some mistake since i am new to this kind of LEDs wiring...

Ahh dear.

Show us the photograph, perfectly focused and no wider than the web page.

Ok, here it is:
pic1
pic2

From the left to the right on the breadboard you can see:

• the LED anodes connected into rows;
  • the LED cathodes connected into columns;
  • an unconnected IC (which i'm going to use later)

The controller board is a Tamino Uno, which is an Arduino clone

The problem is that is never going to work without the meatballs and bolognese sauce!

Ok, in this case pictures are not going to help much. Can you post a schematic? Hand drawn and scanned/photographed is perfectly ok.

Paul

the schematic is exactly the same in the page i previously linked.
The only difference is how the LEDs are arranged.

well, if everything is wired like that, it should work :p.

It's near impossible to help you here. What you're trying should work, if it doesn't, start going step by step to see where it's going wrong. You're already doing some good analysis by only trying 1 group of 4 leds, start experimenting with what works and what doesn't work, and when you've got more to tell us, come back :).

Maybe there was something wrong in the code in that page, i've written this function to turn on a single LED in the matrix and it works!

void turnOnLed( int x, int y )
{
/*
     Serial.print("debug turning on pins:");
     Serial.println(x, DEC);
     Serial.print(y, DEC);
 */

pinMode(x, OUTPUT);
     digitalWrite(x, HIGH);
     pinMode(y, OUTPUT);
     digitalWrite(y, LOW);