5 LEDS in 4 rows how to???

need help I have a problem m hoping for information..

I have 4 rows of five LED's I need to send information from a data sheet text file that gives numbers for each led and blanks or eqiv for no LED's to light.

So if I input a text with 1, 6, 11, and 16 LED's to light; the output would be Row 1 has its first LED lit row 2 the same and so on.

If no lights are required for a row they need to be out/off.

I have no experience in this and need help so any help would work..

Always respect to those who help =;)

How are the LEDs connected?

I'm wanting them to be run through an UNO I got at radioshack. Ive looked at some samples of code for the software but none of them gave a clear example of what I was looking to accomplish IMHO. I might be wrong though. Anyhow I have an UNO rev 3 kit. I am new at this and very much so green. I have 4 74HC595's but am not sure that this is the chip I need to proceed...

You have some loose LEDs?
4 rows, 5 columns… as a 4x5 (or 5x4) matrix, you could do that with 9 output pins, 4 or 5 resistors, and no auxiliary ICs
Can you solder up and lead out a matrix then?

I don’t know honestly, I’ve been trying to link them through but I have found I can control 8 led’s per IC but I was wanting to know is there a way to do what I am asking with one IC.

I had just Replied that you could do so without any ICs (extra). Not interested? Not good enough?

mynameherebro: I don't know honestly, I've been trying to link them through but I have found I can control 8 led's per IC but I was wanting to know is there a way to do what I am asking with one IC.

With the right IC, yes.

But before we can get to that we need to know how your LEDs are connected. You say "I have 4 rows of five LED's" which implies that they're connected together but they might be just be 20 LEDs in a bag for all we know....

Here’s an example of a 5x5 matrix, delete 1 row, or 1 column, to make it 4x5, or 5x4.