5v instead of 3.3v

Hello, this is a noobish question but i have an Arduino Pro Mini 5v and i want to connect a Rayson BTM-182 module which feeds with a 3.3v supply. I am no expert so i would like to know what are the consequences of feeding with 5v instead of 3.3v.

Thnx.

what are the consequences of feeding with 5v instead of 3.3v.

Unexpected failures, shortened life, overheating...the usual.

Thank for reply. One more doubt... would it be possible to supply 3.3v forming a potential divider? for example a 150 resistor at the top and 300 resistor at the bottom (resulting in 3.333v)? If so would it look something like this:

Pro Mini 5v BTM 3.3v GRD-------------------GRD TX---------------------RX RX---------------------TX VCC---150R-----300R--GRD | ----- VCC

rinator: Thank for reply. One more doubt... would it be possible to supply 3.3v forming a potential divider? for example a 150 resistor at the top and 300 resistor at the bottom (resulting in 3.333v)? If so would it look something like this:

Pro Mini 5v BTM 3.3v GRD-------------------GRD TX---------------------RX RX---------------------TX VCC---150R-----300R--GRD | ----- VCC

No, because the load resistance of the Rayson BTM-182 attached to the VCC point on your divider changes the parameters of the whole calculation. Proper way is to use a small 3 terminal fixed 3.3vdc regulator to cut down the 5vdc to 3.3vdc for the Rayson BTM-182. http://parts.digikey.com/1/parts/1101885-ic-reg-ldo-lp-100ma-3-3v-92-lp2950acz-3-3g.html

Your Tx signals will also be 5v and not 3.3v, you will fry your module even if you supply it with 3.3v to Vcc

So i will have to use 2 of those 3 terminal regulators then? one on Vcc pin and another on the Tx pin? Thnx

another on the Tx pin?

No, you don't use a regulator for changing signal levels. You use a transistor or two.

As Mike says, you need to understand the difference between power supply level and signal level.