5v SMPS power supply outputting 5.7v

Hi guys, I am new to arduino and electronics so i apologise in advance if my problem sounds dumb to more experienced people.

I am building an animated pixel clock with an arduino mega and a ws2812b led strip turned into a homemade pixel screen. I learned a lot about programming and all went well in prototype phase.

My problem is that when building it for real i switched my homemade bench power supply for a cheap SMPS 5v 10a power supply to feed both the arduino and the led screen but the psu is outputting 5.7v with no load... that made me not trust this psu.

Can i plug the power supply to the led strip directly, will the voltage drop a bit since i am using 256 ws2812b leds? The absolute maximum rating for the ws2812b led is 5.3v so i got worried i might fry my screen instantly after so much work...

Just to be safe i did put two 1n4007 diodes in series to lower the voltage to the arduino USB port (got it to 5.03v) and the mega turned on with no apparent issues. All seems fine, but i did not plug the led screen fearing i might destroy it.

I dont know how i can drop the 5.7v for the screen to at least 5.3v, since i am using 256 individual ws2812b leds so the current requirements are quite high.

Also i am not sure if SMPS psus might have dangerous voltage spikes that might fry my mega or screen in the long run (cant afford an oscilloscope yet). I did put a 1000uf decoupling capacitor in the vcc and ground lines leading to the screen... didnt do that for the lines that feed the arduino though. Should I do that? Im pretty clueless with this one.

I am still quite new when it comes to electronics so i appreciate any help i might get and apologise in advance for my crudeness.