5v to 3v

I just got a 3v input laser pointer head and I was wondering if there is a way to drop voltage from 5v to 3v to accommodate the laser without burning it. Is there is a solution using only a handful of resistors? I've heard the term voltage divider used before but I am new to this whole math with electricity thing.

EDIT: I was thinking maybe a led in series with a 2v drop?

There may be a single-resistor solution. It requires knowing the amount of current drawn by the laser, then using Ohm's law to calculate the resistance required to drop two volts.

A voltage regulator is another approach, e.g. Smart | Connected | Secure | Microchip Technology

A third possibility, similar to the resistor solution, is to use three silicon diodes (e.g. 1N4001) in series, which will drop about 2V or so.

All I know is the datasheet says <40mA.

I’m not sure how to interpret that.

Use a low dropout voltage regulator, or use either a string of 3 diodes or a yellow LED. Red only drops out about 1.5V, so you'd want a diode in series with it if you use red.

tripphippie:
All I know is the datasheet says <40mA.

http://www.mpja.com/download/19566lz.pdf

I’m not sure how to interpret that.

Yeah, I’d probably measure it. With the voltage regulator solution, knowing the exact current isn’t required.

OTOH, calculating a resistor value for a 40mA current is easy enough. R = V / I = 2V / 0.04A = 50?. 47? and 51? are common standard values. Using the resistor, measure the voltage across the laser, and if it’s not fairly close to 3V, use a different resistor value. Given the spec (< 40mA) you may find that a larger resistor is required if your unit only draws, for example, 30mA. So maybe start high and work down, i.e. try 100?, 82?, 68?, etc.

Would this resistor be a pull down or in series? An example circuit would be stellar.

tripphippie:
Would this resistor be a pull down or in series?

series