5x5x5 Led Cude Powering Question

Hello im a programmer but new to electronics, so here is my question.

I have build a 5x5x5 led cube using 4x 74HC595 my problem is that when i turn on more than 10-20 leds at the same time the leds are not bright enough. Im powering the led cube form arduino uno. I have used 5 resistors total placed on the cathode of each layer. Each resistor is 5ohms.

If i have used 25 resistors one for each anode would the leds be brighter? In confused please help.

Thanks in advance, Arkas

my problem is that when i turn on more than 10-20 leds at the same time the leds are not bright enough. Im powering the led cube form arduino uno.

Well, that's why.

Each resistor is 5ohms.

That's generally way too low.

If i have used 25 resistors one for each anode would the leds be brighter?

More resistors/more resistance == less current. Less current == dimmer.

Why 5ohms is too low, if i had used a more ohms resistor the light would be even more low, correct?

Why 5ohms is too low

The purpose of the resistor is to limit the amount of current an LED can draw. A 5 ohm resistor does a lousy job of limiting current.

The problem that you have is that there simply isn't enough current, limited by resistors or not, to power the LEDs. Kind of like fighting a forest fire with a squirt gun.

I built a 5x5x5 blue led cube. The problem you are having is that the brightness will vary based on the duty cycle of your scanning, and the number of led being commanded on at any one of the five levels. You really should have a dedicated resistor wire to all 125 leds, that would eliminated the variation of brightness due to the number of led selected on for each level.

The solution I used, which is the best was to use shift registers that had constant current regulators on each of the output pins that would automatically adjust the output current to whatever value you wanted via a single 'current programming' resistor wired to the shift register.