6 Direction of Freedom Joystick

I have seen some projects around for this type of controller i currently own a 3d printer and some Arduino components i was thinking about maybe spending some time and money on a project like this in the hopes to get a really nice finished product. I am very new to Arduino hardware and its capabilities in terms of processing power and how many sensors can be controlled by a single Arduino. Also the type of sensors available seems to be rather endless. I have a minor programming background so i can find my way around the code i tend to refactor everything to make it easier to understand. As far as electronics go i am pretty clueless i have some basics but need some advice here.

I own
Arduino UNO
Arduino MEGA
ESP32 (on order)
Also a large sensor beginners kit (not really useful for this project but has some basics)

Project scope
So the idea is to make and design a 6 Dof controller for a windows based pc to be used in 3d applications and games. With the addition of some buttons for extra functionality to be added to the project at a later date.

Hardware -
Stewart platform - 3d printed
Arduino Mega (i guess i need the extra input pins?) or ESP32 this thing has a lot of cpu power and wireless could be handy.

Angle/ liner measurement required 6 of these. I could really use some help here.
absolute rotary encoder - these seem really expensive and i will require 6 total so i dont think these are a cost effective for the project.
9g Servo motor - It was suggested that its possible to bypass the PCB in these and use to get the angle i think it might feel a bit rough though since you are still turning a mechanical motor but it would work?
Hall effect sensor - It uses a dipole magnet to sense rotation, that's all i know about these. They are used in gimbals for a radio controller for RC so they have application in this area i think might be good depends on the price.