6 serial ports to 1

Hi all,

I have to combine the hardware TX line of 6 atmega328 processors to a single serial TX line.
If I can make sure that every processor spits its data when no other processor is talking, I assume that I can simply do with a OR gate with six inputs? Or is this too easy?

I have never worked with gate ICs before. What are the important factors to look for? Does is need to be a special kind capable of working with TTL level signals?

Thanks!
Jens

jensvanhoof:
Hi all,

I have to combine the hardware TX line of 6 atmega328 processors to a single serial TX line.
If I can make sure that every processor spits its data when no other processor is talking, I assume that I can simply do with a OR gate with six inputs? Or is this too easy?

That will work if you can avoid clashes.

You could wire the RX line back to all 6 atmega328s and tell them when to talk to you.

jensvanhoof:
I have never worked with gate ICs before. What are the important factors to look for? Does is need to be a special kind capable of working with TTL level signals?

It doesn't need to be anything special. 74LS32 is the standard one. A 74HC4078 will do it with a single chip if you can find one of them.

You can do that with gates, but I would like to know more.

How can you test that no other is talking ? With an extra signal ? When you use an extra signal, you can use that also for other things.

You could use a multiplexer:

You could daisy chaining the serial data lines:

You could use the SoftwareSerial, but you would have to know which one will be transmitting, since it can only receive one pin:

The other way would be to use the I2C interface which is designed to have several devices attached to it.

Caltoa:
You can do that with gates, but I would like to know more.

How can you test that no other is talking ? With an extra signal ? When you use an extra signal, you can use that also for other things.