60V Pulse at 1.2 MHz

I am very new to Arduino, but I have built a TTL trigger which sends a 4.3V, 2000 ms pulse using a nano board (following GitHub - nakulbende/TTL_Trigger: Make a TTL trigger using Arduino. This version outputs to a BNC terminal commonly used in scientific instruments. The sketch also includes an option to define duration for which the TTL trigger will be on HIGH.). It turns out that this amount of power is insufficient for my application.

I am attempting to send a series of pulses to a piezo-electric crystal (and an LED for the same duration). The piezo-electric crystal has to be cycled or gated. So I need to oscillate excitation pulses at 1.2 MHz (i.e. 400 nsecs on / 400 nsecs off). What I would like to happen is when I push a button (linked to the reset pin), it lights an LED for ~5 seconds from pin 13 while also pulsing 60v at 1.2 MHz for the same duration from another pin.

My assumption is that I can do this using a T1P120 transistor using analogwrite. Does anyone have any advice or suggestions? I would greatly appreciate any feedback.

What you are trying to do might be a little clearer is you provided a link to a data sheet for your piezo. You discuss needing power to do this thing but only describe signals, pulses and square waves from an analog output pin.

Paul

Here are the specs:

• Resonant Frequency: 1.2 MHz
  • Material: PZT-5H
  • Shape: cylinder (length 0.05 inches, width 0.05 inches, wall thickness 0.01 inches)
  • Capacitance: 420-550 pF
  • Bandwidth: around 200KHz.
  • Maximum Input Voltage: around 1kV (limiting factor is wire insulation and our sonomicrometer board circuitry)
  • Power Consumption/Efficiency: we use a very small duty cycle (about 0.009%)

Operating Specifications:

1. Bandwidth: Our 2 mm crystals operate at about 2 mHz. Due to the nature of the crystals the bandwidth is very narrow at about 200 kHz.