7 band spectrum analyzer using msgeq7 and lm3915

Hi all,

I’m still very new to Arduino and have very limited coding experience. I have looked all over the interweb and keep finding completed projects like the one i want to do but no one has put schematics or code online for me to experiment with.

I’m trying to build a 7 band spectrum analyzer for a Cmoy headphone amplifier using an msgeq7 chip to split the frequency into 7 bands and lm3915 chips to drive the LED’s. I have all the components working using SKOBA’s tutorial on the msgeq7 and can display the RAW audio in signal (not yet split) using one lm3915 and a 10 led array (looks pretty too). Ive also used two lm3915’s and two led arrays to display right and left channels (this also looks pretty dang cool).

Check it out (This is just raw audio, no msgeq7 or Arduino)

My question is…

How do i take the 7 different bands off the msgeq7 (using SKOBA’s tutorial) and write each separate band to a different pin on the Arduino so that each pin/frequency is driving its own lm3915?

Is this possible? Is this the easiest way to do it? Remember… I’m still very new to coding so the simpler the better.

Thanks,

Spleen

There is easier way:

http://fftarduino.blogspot.com/2011/02/color-organ-spectrum-analyzer-on.html

Default value 32 band, adjustable simply combining few bands in a group.
In the project 3 group, 10 or 11 bands each.

And lm3915 "implemented" in the code, for UNO board only 4 levels possible w/o using analog port,
Mega or multiplexing chips would be necessary for more levels, let say 10 or 20.