7 segment display - how to create a special character

Morning. I'm new to this so please be gentle!
I have a cricket scoreboard made up of a number of 7 segment displays, controlled by shift registers & an Uno.
I guess that somewhere in the collection of files that I uploaded to the uno is a file that defines which segments are to be illuminated for any given digit that the uno is told to display.
Can someone please tell me which file I might be looking for & how I amend it, as I want to create a special character, basically the top horizontal segment, & the bottom 4, so that it looks like a '10' on its side. I can assign this to any character, say an 'a'
Thanks in advance.

_/O_ Look at that file, no, not that, the next one. There it is.

Here you can read about 7 segments displays and how to control them
http://tronixstuff.com/2010/05/06/getting-started-with-arduino-chapter-five/

I know what sort of string I'm looking for, but how to I view .h or .cpp files?

but how to I view .h or .cpp files?

do you have a text editor?

So you have already got a scoreboard consisting of 7 segment LED displays and an Arduino Uno.
If you post the sketch (program) here that you load onto the Uno, someone may be able to help.
Even better if you also have a schematic (even hand drawn diagram) of all the components (including shift registers involved.

Usually, there is an internal representation of each 7 segment display, consisting of one byte per display.
Each of the eight bits in the byte represents either one of the single segment of the display or the decimal point.

I think the setup gets its definition as to which segments are to be lit from the shifterStr.cpp file.

I think the line
int SegmentArray = {252, 96, 218, 242, 102, 182, 190, 224, 254, 230};
designated the segments for the digits 0-9 in sequence.

I think the value 186 which equates to OxBA gives me the segments I need