7 segment serial display with TTL serial need help

Hi, I am new to Arduino and just bought a 7 segment serial display this week. http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=9230

Instead of using SPI, I would like to use TTL level communication to control my display and my arduino is ATMega328. The wiring is easy, VCC to pin11, GND to GND and RX to TX(arduino).

I was told to use Serial.write() to display numbers but not succeed yet.

After hours of struggling, I'd like to ask your kindly help to help me with the coding. At this first stage, I just want to display four digits mannually.

Below is my code now: (try to display"2345")

Void Setup(){ Serial.begin(9600);

pinMode(11, OUTPUT); }

Void loop(){

Serial.write(0x02); Serial.write(0x03); Serial.write(0x04); Serial.write(0x05);

}

I really have no idea with my coding and I hope someone can help me... Thank you in advance!

i think you have to use serial1 and not serial

tobi

You haven't got the USB hooked up when you're trying to do this, have you?

I corrected your code:

void setup() { //c/c++ is case sensitive Void is not the same as void
  Serial.begin(9600); 
  pinMode(11, OUTPUT); 
} 

void loop() { 
  Serial.print(0x02); //use print instead of write
  Serial.print(0x03); 
  Serial.print(0x04); 
  Serial.print(0x05); 
}

Thank you AlphaBeta for your kindly help. (I can upload to I/O now) There is still nothing appeared on my display board and I guess that my code missed some important part...

Try this

void setup() { Serial.begin(9600); pinMode(11, OUTPUT); }

void loop() { Serial.print(0x32,BYTE); Serial.print(0x33,BYTE); Serial.print(0x34,BYTE); Serial.print(0x35,BYTE); } :)

Pin 11 as output will not do what you want here. I think you need to use the software serial library and leave the hardware serial alone since it's connected to the FTDI chip.

You only need the send function since serial on it only has RX. You may have to set the TX pin to please the library.