8 DC Motors and 1 Arduino Uno, Same Speed, On and Off

Hello all,

I'm trying to control 8 different DC motors using 1 Arduino Uno. All the motors will function at the same speed, it's just a matter of turning a specific one on and off.

I originally was planning on using a 1 to 8 demux, but I don't think that the demux can supply a PWM output as they are just logic gates, so they would either turn them on (5V) or off (0V).

I'm also looking for a solution that would use the least amount of pins as I'm using the other pins for other demultiplexers.

I'm a little confused on how to proceed and I'm fairly new to Arduino. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hi,
Welcome to the forum.

Please read the first post in any forum entitled how to use this forum.
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,148850.0.html.

What are the DC motors, spec/date link will help.
Do you need direction control or just speed.

If just speed and ON/OFF you can use a serial input/parallel output shift register to control 8 MOSFETs to switch the motors on and off, and off the top of my head use diode switching at the MOSFET gate to apply the PWM.

You will need some control lines for the shift register and the PWM line for the control.

Just an idea, others may be able to suggest other alternatives.

How many pins do you have free to use?

Thanks.. Tom... :slight_smile:

Yes, MOSFET switch for each.

For your PWM: I understand all motors are to move together. If MOSFETs are small enough (gate charge, mostly) you may get away with connecting them all to a single pin. Do use a current limiting resistor on the connection to the gates.

Alternative: a set of non-inverting buffers, each of which controls one or two MOSFETs. Those typically come in sets of six in a single IC.

If that's now what you're looking for: provide more detail. Lots more detail.

Sorry if I didn't include enough detail.