8h 10h and 12h light timer, without rtc

Disclaimer Im fairly new to arduino

Hello everyone thanks for taking the time to read :slight_smile:

So I'd really love to implement arduino into gardening and I'm aware thats been done so many times.

But I cant find anywhere that would tell me how to set up a simple 8h, 10h and 12h light on period (with buttons) with an arduino and relay while not using an rtc module.

Is it possible? Would i have to have the delay set at (1000000) for example, could the arduino count that long? or is there another possible way?

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

You can use the Arduino as a clock but the 16 MHz resonator is only about 0.5% accurate. That means your clock may be off as much as 7.2 minutes a day. It will also not be able to remember what time it is if it ever looses power.

You can get a basic DS1307 RTC module or a precision DS3231 RTC Module for under $5.

LyrikalDevil:
Would i have to have the delay set at (1000000) for example, could the arduino count that long?

Yes, that's the general idea. But 1000000 is only 16 mins 40 seconds. For 8 hours, you can use delay(86060*1000). In theory, delay() can go up to around 24 days, but...

The problem with using delay() like that is that the Arduino will do nothing else for 8 hours. That may be OK, but if you want it respond to other button presses, because you want to cancel or choose a different time, it won't even see the button presses. For this reason, using delay() for a second or more is something only beginners do. As soon as you become a little more competent, you will want to switch to using millis().

const unsigned long OneHour = 60UL * 60UL * 1000UL;
const unsigned long EightHours = 8 * OneHour;
const unsigned long TenHours = 10 * OneHour;
const unsigned long TwelveHours = 12 * OneHour;
const unsigned long TwentyFourHours = 24 * OneHour;

// Default to 8 on, 16 off.
unsigned long OnTime = EightHours;

unsigned long StartTime;