8x8 grid comments?

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to this stuff and the physical side is my weak point.

I want to light up an 8x8 grid (spread over a space of a few meters squared rather than a PCB). I've been looking at the SHiftOut tutorial (http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ShiftOut) and I assume that I can either extend it as is, or run another pair off other pins to make 64 outputs? In particular I'm wondering about current etc over longer distances.

Assuming that I can, is there anything else that I ought to be aware of before getting started? Ideally I'd like bright LED's, and maybe from there RGB ones. Control over the LED's will initially be via code but the next stage is to mirror inputs from a capacitive sensor or drive them from some other source (noise would do)

THanks folks

Spreading a matrix over such a distance could be a problem. Apart from a small LED being widely space the normal way of driving a matrix is by multiplexing. This is a problem with long leads as the capacitance in the long lines causes a natural speed limit on the multiplexing and so you might end up with flickering because you can't drive it fast enough.

However, if you use a shift register to give you 64 solid outputs that would not be a problem. Keep the shift registers close to the Arduino as well as the current drivers, then use long wires to connect up the LEDs.

That's what I'd planned on doing - if it can be honoured with the title of plan at this early stage.

Is there some kind of magic formula to figure latency (or distance I suppose) out? I haven't got to the touchpad part yet so there might be an issue there, but initially it could be controlled via serial inputs and I guess 56k would be fast enough for keystrokes over a (say) 10m serial cable from the PC to the arduino and it's PSU?

THanks for the quick response

Is there some kind of magic formula to figure latency