8x8 LED Matrix

I was following this tutorial:

http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/DirectDriveLEDMatrix

I tried both sets of code, neither work. The second one's error is:

Output:

sketch_apr20a.ino: In function 'void setup()': sketch_apr20a:95: error: 'FrequencyTimer2' has not been declared sketch_apr20a:97: error: 'FrequencyTimer2' has not been declared sketch_apr20a:99: error: 'FrequencyTimer2' has not been declared

Sample code for scrolling messages (needs FrequencyTimer2 library):

Looks like you didn't download the library, or you didn't install it in the first place, or you didn't restart the IDE.

Thanks, I didn't know that. Would you recommend using resistors?

Would you recommend using resistors?

Always. For what?

Definitely with that circuit.

Would you recommend using resistors?

If you are following the tutorial you will have seen

Note: DON'T FORGET CURRENT-LIMITING RESISTORS.

I'm new to electronics. I know what resistors do, what don't understand why they're needed, or how you know if they are. I was running all lights on this thing without resistors and it worked fine? I ran it for at least 45min.

tylerv: I'm new to electronics. I know what resistors do, what don't understand why they're needed, or how you know if they are. I was running all lights on this thing without resistors and it worked fine? I ran it for at least 45min.