8x8 RG LED Matrix/Shift Register/Sink Driver Schem

First of all I must say that I am new to arduino and circuitry for that matter, but I have researched this matter prior to asking this question. I am attempting to wire the Sparkfun LED Matrix (sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=682) with two 74HC595 8 bit shift registers(sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=733) and one Darlington SInk Driver(sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=312) to an Arduino Duemilanove. I have wired the circuit according to the schematic at tinkerlog.com/2008/08/31/led-matrix-projector/, yet after several rewirings the matrix still does not function. After trying several pieces of code, I have been able to get various LEDs to somewhat randomly light, but not as the code specifies. I believe that I have the Matrix itself and the sink driver connected correctly to the arduino, and I believe that the shift register connections are wired incorrectly. I have reviewed the schematic as well as the data sheets for the shift registers to no avail. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Just had a look at it and it is a really poor circuit because it can't provide enough current for the LEDs. The shift registers can only safely supply 40mA and that is not enough if many LEDs are on at the same time.